RSS Feed

NO RETURN

 

 

punishable feet.

a traveller in a strange city

shoes painted underneath by decay

tones of home in kicks of gravel

a thought of murder

a hand grips tight inside a pocket

the feel of an unknown amount of change

a tear to one side of face

a departure

slow and marvelous ache

sounds of water pelting a street drain

a cringe to this stranger’s brain

a breath

a heaving sigh

from lungs that are seared

a thought of death

cold mirror

the closing of eyes

a reflecting hint of black

of blue light

this night has stars like wounded sky

darkest memory

a distant shrill tone

a grinding of metal

a traveller waits for the impending train

aggravating noise of a horn

silence…

punishable feat.

 

(C)10/16/98

9:40 pm.

Christopher Vaughn

About Christopher Vaughn

Born in Allentown, Pennsylvania in 1971 and moved all over the world as a military brat, my first venture into writing occurred in my heart early in childhood when I became obsessed with science fiction books by Jules Verne, Dan O Bannen, Isaac Asimov and Ray Bradbury. It was early elementary school when I discovered Robert Frost and his pen struck me. I was wanting to be in the worlds he painted. After several honors English classes and more obsessive reading of Madeleine L'Engle and Stephen King, I knew writing was a calling. In the 80's I was also enamored with electronic bands Depeche Mode and Front 242 and seminal bands like Skinny Puppy and Click Click which influenced my writing as well. In the 90's I was transformed when I discovered Clive Barker, he was the total package. Artist, Painter, Sculptor, Writer, Poet, Director...I became a survivalist writer. A term I coined by the nature of writing through feeling...letting go of the negative and hurt. Which if you are a poet, is what you do. It's not all just about creative churning. It's letting out what you feel inside of you. I continue to write poetry, short stories and lyrics to survive...

Leave a Reply

